Posted by: notsofancynancy | February 21, 2012

HELLO WORLD!

I learned a very important lesson today… That is read the directions! I have no idea why the heck I am doing this other than calming all the words in my head. (No, I said words not voices!) Those of you who write or journal will know what I am talking about.  REALLY it is not uncommon.

As I begin my blogging journey I hope you will join me. But I think I read somewhere that I have to do something so you can read it. I just wish I remembered what that was AND where it was that I saw that.

I love to write and I love history. I never thought that I would have much to write about or that I would have a part of history to preserve. But it seams like God had other plans. I am not sure I am good at writing but it is something I like to do. I have lots of stories to tell. Some are funny and some are not. I have written about many things and now I am learning about my fathers WWII days. Someone suggested that I start a blog. So here I am with no idea of what I am doing.

I have pictures of my fathers time overseas. I also have a suitcase full of letters. The first letter is from 1937. My father was friends with my mothers Cousin, George R. Vance and somewhere they met at a dance and began a pen-pal-ship that spanned from 1937 until my father returned from WWII in 1945. In these pages I hope to tell you what my father view of the war was, what he went through, and how he felt. I really just want to preserve the history my father lived.

I hope you will join my journey.

Post #1 done!

Responses

  1. Excellent blog!!! Proud of you! Love ya!!

  2. Cool Nancy!! I look forward to reading more 🙂

  3. Cant wait to read more, Nancy!! I am so proud of you too!! You have so much to say!! 🙂 Big Hugsss!!!

  4. Very excited, Nancy!

  5. I just found you I think because you just found me!!! LOL I feel exactly as you do about blogging…. its something I want to do but not sure how good I will be at it. I am excited about reading your blogs about WWII and your father…. my dad did not serve overseas but was on the home front.. Unfortunately he was not much of a talker so I don’t know a lot of his stories. Can’t wait to read more of yours.

    • That is what is so neat about having Dad’s letters. He did not talk about the war either so it is like hearing it for the first time. Welcome and I hope you come back soon.

  6. Thank you for your blog. I am interested in people’s lives during this time and will be interested in falling your father. Now I need to go catch up with him.

    • Welcome aboard! Let me know if you have any questions!

  7. I just found you today, and your first post echoes my sentiments about blogging exacly. I am also writing about my father- his story started with the Great Depression and ended during the Cold War. I look forward to comparing and contrasting our dads’ stories.


Leave a Reply

Categories

It's all in a Nutshell

A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Bill Willson

My Writing Life

findingmynewbliss

Lost my bliss looking for a new one

Dear Judy...Letters to Tanzania

What the hell, it's cheaper than postage

The People of Pancho

At Play In The Archive

Wayne's Journal

A life of a B-25 tail gunner with the 42nd Bombardment Group in the South Pacific

