Posted by: notsofancynancy | June 16, 2012

Joshua Trees

If a Joshua Tree only grows one inch in a year how old do you think this one is?

I live in the High Desert of Southern California and I forget not everyone has seen a Joshua Tree before. I am lucky enough to have three in my yard, but not the one in the above picture, none are that old. When I first learned about them they were thought to be part of the lily family but it seems that has changed. It is now recognized as being in the yucca family.

The National Park Service has a great article on them

“I Speak for the Trees” Dr. Seuss, The Lorax

Surrounded by twisted, spiky trees straight out of a Dr. Seuss book, you might begin to question your map. Where are we anyway? In wonder, the traveler pulls over for a snapshot of this prickly oddity; the naturalist reaches for a botanical guide to explain this vegetative spectacle; and the rock climber shouts “Yowch!” when poked by dagger-like spines on the way to the 5.10 climbing route.

The dagger like “leaves” hurt like a sun of a gun when poked with one. They do provide some shade in the summer months so when you find one as big as above you may want to sit in it’s shade. But don’t get too close as they will make you bleed if they get a chance.

You click here to read the whole article.

It DOES snow in the desert-My Joshua Tree

Responses

  1. I love seeing desert plants covered with snow. When we lived in Scottsdale, AZ we would occasionally get a dusting of snow and everyone would head out to the desert for photos. Lovely!

    • We usually get a good snow every year. 2008 was over the top. When you live on dirt toads no one comes out and plow the road. So our road kind of disappear. lol

  2. Oh wow that tree is awesome!! And oh wow did I totally post my award wrong when I said you were in Arizona! Ha!! I will be going to change that now! Sorry for the mix up!

    • No worries lol. When you think Desert you really don’t think California. hahaha working on my acceptance speech. lol

  3. Not just that I have not seen a Joshua tree. I have to confess that I have not heard of one.

  4. I have a good friend who lives in Yucca Valley. The first time he sent me a picture of snow in his yard I was amazed. I didn’t know it snowed in So-Cal. My only time out there was in June 20 years ago to see my newborn grandson. I was amazed at how hot it was in the summer so to think about snow being a part of the climate was pretty foreign to me. Thanks for sharing the photo and bringing back my memories of the trip there to see my first grandson.

    • I am glad I could muster up a good memory for you! Yucca valley is not to far from here. I use to ride dirt bikes at an old homestead when I was first out of high school, many years ago. There was no water piped into the homestead so they would have to have water trucked in. The built a great bathroom with a huge tub under the water tank. In fact is was much nicer than the one room house. Awe yes, on a hot day that tub could be used to cool off. Kind of like an indoor swimming pool, a really small one though. Those were the days! Now I do not think I can lift my leg up high enough to get on a bike. lol

  5. I found this to be very interesting. Hugs

  6. Since nobody has attempted to answer your question on how old we think that Joshua tree is, I therefore will: it is much older than I. 🙂

  7. I’ve never seen them in the snow, but they are awesome any way you can get to them! Joshua trees are a treasure! Debra

  8. Being Australian I’ve never heard of nor seen a Joshua Tree before. I think it looks amazing! 🙂

    • I am so glad I did a post on them so you could see them! Thanks for stopping by!

  9. What a wonderfully amazing tree.

    • Thanks! I love that I have three of my own in my yard.

  10. That’s a crazy cool tree! I’d heard of them, but your photo shows what one really looks like. Thanks for sharing that fascinating info!

    • As I said I forget that some people may not have seen them. I am really glad I posted it! They are beautiful in a desert kine of way. lol

  11. I don’t recall ever having seen a photo of a Joshua Tree. Never in real life. The light is beautiful and I am longing to return… one day! (actually will be a lot longer than just ONE day!) ::))

    • I really love that sitting here in my house I can see two and the tops of many more! I am glad I could share them with you!

  12. I went last year for the first time to see the Joshua trees in the snow. It was eerie yet pretty.

    • It is always kind of eerie to see snow in the desert, but we usually get a good snow here most years. Nothing to speak about this year which in our case will mean wildfires. I am praying we don’t have many this year but I am already seeing them other places here.


Leave a Reply

Categories

It's all in a Nutshell

A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Bill Willson

My Writing Life

findingmynewbliss

Lost my bliss looking for a new one

Dear Judy...Letters to Tanzania

What the hell, it's cheaper than postage

The People of Pancho

At Play In The Archive

Wayne's Journal

A life of a B-25 tail gunner with the 42nd Bombardment Group in the South Pacific

