Posted by: notsofancynancy | July 30, 2012

Kiva, Rehabilitated

Kiva Before in 2005

This pup has a long story. The first picture is how she looked when she was sprung from the pound. Watch for her story coming soon.

Kiva in 2011

Here she is in 2011. She has tested and pass therapy dog training and was also a Reading Education Assistance Dog. I retired her this year. She is a sweetie.

Related Articles

The Dogs Who Love Me Series: Kiva

Thankful Tuesday~One from the Vaults~Princess Kiva

Finally a Friday~One from the Vaults

Almost Wordless Wednesday

The Dogs Who Loved Me Series, Prologue.

Responses

  1. So looking forward to hearing more about Kiva – what a gorgeous bundle πŸ™‚

    • Thanks she is one of those special dogs. But then all my dogs have been special. lol

  2. Oh my goodness! What a transformation and a cutie pie! You done good, ma’am!

    • Why thank you sir! It was hard work but she is really worth it.

  3. What a remarkable difference – for the better.

  4. ….”watch for her story coming soon.” What is this? You keep me on the edge of my seat with these post!!!! And it makes it all FUN! Take care and God Bless πŸ™‚

  5. She is such a little cutie!

    • I know, right? look at her crescent moon eye brows. lol

  6. I can’t wait to hear more. I didn’t know you did dog rescue, too!

    • I only rescue ones I can keep and rehabilitate. There is no better job… well it would be better if I got paid for it. lol

  7. It appears like she is looking at us, sizing us up. Or she’s falling asleep. What a cutie!

    • She is like me and does not like her picture taken. lol I think the sun is making her sleepy. lol

  8. Wow, you can see the transformation! What a cutie. Rescued dogs are the best!

    • They really are if you have the patience to work through their problems. Kiva is a great example of that.

  9. What a pretty little dog, so cute πŸ™‚

  10. Adorable. Blessings for adopting a dog from the pound.

    • Thanks all of our dogs are adopted. We would never have one otherwise. Even our newest pup was a rescue. 6 week old pups who were due to be put down the day they were rescued by a rescue group. Whew just in time. We are lucky!

  11. You and I are of one mind, when it comes to animals. ALL of mine were in bad shape, unwanted, at shelters, rescues, pounds, at SOMEONE’S HOUSE IN FILTH… You go, girl.

    • I am not allowed to look at dogs online or go to shelters. I just want to make them better. What a rewarding experiance to have a hopeless dog who you are able to transform into….well… whatever you want it to be really. I also taught humane education to schools, and kids all over the high desert. Once I helped develop a program in a juvenile detention center. The kids were there short term so it is not like dogs in prisons. I have done a lot here for and about dogs. The pay was not good it was all volunteer.

      • You were and are rewarded with virtue that no money can buy.

      • Yep Priceless!

  12. How cute and what a career!

    • She is a blessing and yes she had quite a career.

  13. What a cutie…and apparently talented, too! πŸ™‚ Debra

    • She is very talented. Any dog who can play patty cake is truly a star! lol

  14. You can really tell the positive change in the photo’s you’ve shared. I see in pic one, her little ears back and how scared she was and then in pic two, so comforable in those little yellow wild flowers with her big perky ears! It just warms my heart, you’re a good good person!

    • What you can’t tell in the first picture is she was starving to death and had lost all her hair. She is pretty much bald in that picture and that is why you can see her little crescent moon eyebrows. She is a survivor.

      • Makes me so happy πŸ˜€

  15. You are a woman of many talents and love…what a terrific gift to care for God’s creatures. Blessings ~ Patty

    • How could I not…lol If I could I would rescue them all! When we did the reading program at the library we had what I called my dogs favorite book. It was called Robo Pup. The dog catcher tried to catch Robo Pup and the Pup ended up catching the catcher. He then let all the dogs and cats out of the truck to freedom. It ends when Robo Pup takes the catcher to the pound. We really loved that book. I always wanted to BE Robo Pup! lol

  16. We have a rescue cat and he’s the pride and joy of our (sadly childless) house! I am so glad that someone like you has taken Kiva in. Bless you!

    • Thank you so much! I am glad you have a cat.

      • Cat people are awesome

  17. What a lovely little dog! and how kind you are.

  18. Enjoy retirement my friend. You are so cute. Are you dating anyone??
    Tuck the Law Dog

  19. A LOT of work between those photos!
    Teaching dogs useful skills seems the best way to save them these days; it appears to me that plain old pets are gradually being priced out of existence by local governments…

    • Thank you and yes it was a lot of work, but good work. It is always worth the unconditional love they return.

  20. I love this little dog! What a cutie. I also love the tag line of your blog πŸ™‚ Cracks me up!!

    • Kiva is a special dog. I am lucky to have her in my life. I forgot about my tag line. I have been asking myself that since Monday when we brought home a new rescue dog. How the hell did I get here with four dogs? lol


Leave a Reply

Categories

It's all in a Nutshell

A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Bill Willson

My Writing Life

findingmynewbliss

Lost my bliss looking for a new one

Dear Judy...Letters to Tanzania

What the hell, it's cheaper than postage

The People of Pancho

At Play In The Archive

Wayne's Journal

A life of a B-25 tail gunner with the 42nd Bombardment Group in the South Pacific

