Posted by: notsofancynancy | August 15, 2012

1941 Telegram

In working with this next batch of my father’s letter I found the following telegram.

1941 Telegram

You can click on the images to make them bigger

It is addressed to Brookville Kansas and is from Little Rock Arkansas, 14 December 1941 “Darling not coming Moving sooner than expected Not sure where Lefty 8:12 AM”

It is written one week after Pearl Harbor was bombed. Dad has been stationed at Camp Robinson in Arkansas and it looks as though he had been planning a furlough home and it was revoked.

(To read the chapter about Pearl Harbor click here)

Also in that same envelope I found the following newspaper clippings from the Yoo Hoo Incident.

(Read about the Yoo Hoo incident here)

The Yoo Hoo Incident

More about the Yoo Hoo

And one more

One More Yoo Hoo

(Read the Yoo Hoo chapter here)

TUNE IN TOMORROW FOR CHAPTER 25, LETTERS WRITTEN BY CAMPFIRES

Responses

  1. Great clippings. Guess things are going to hot up pretty soon!

    • Yes they certainly did. But in chapter 25 we are in the end of 1943 they are still training. I know that he goes overseas in 1944. Things will really heat up for these soldiers then.

  2. I loved reading the newspaper clippings and seeing the telegram. I have collected some ephemera in the past and enjoy this sort of thing. The WW2 era is especially fascinating–so different from life in 2012 USA. Thanks for sharing.

    • And thanks for the kind comment. I never had any interest in World War II, until I started working and sharing Dad’s letters. Now I kind of feel obsessed with the era. lol

      • What treasures you have to hold in your hand. Thanks again for sharing with the rest of us.

  3. These are wonderful, and historic. What a treasure.

  4. 1. Awww…
    2. Um, excuse me, Ladies, your epidermis is showing. Gentlemen – your testosterone is showing… 🙂
    3. Join GA. (whistle at your own risk. HA HA HA!! 🙂

    • I remember this story from when I was young. Dad went to as many of the reunions as he could afford. Yoo Hoo was always the thing they were famous for having received the first nickname of WWII. The Yoo Hoo battalion. It is quite a funny story, now.

  5. Those are so cool! You found tangible bits to put together with the letters and really make it more real. Wow!

    • I know and to think it was stuck in the 1943 letters. I am going to add them to the appropriate chapters.

  6. You have so many great letters and clippings. I’m jealous 🙂

  7. It’s amazing how much emotion can be conveyed in so few words iin the telegram. You can sense your father’s sadness–as well has the recipiant’s sadness.

  8. Hi Nancy; I just found your blog 1 minute ago. I too have a box of photos but I made a web site instead of a blog. My father was at Camp Robinson also 1 week before Pearl Harbor. His 1 year of training was supposed to end and they were all supposed to go back home to Emporia, Ks.. Instead, he and and 161st Field Artillery Band went to Fort Ord in Monterey, California. My web site is http://www.1270thengineercombatbattalion.com. My father, Joe Turner, left his buddies from Emporia and went for flight training. When the training was cancelled he was reassigned to Intelligence in an engineering unit. I have received loads of information from the National Archieves and last month wrote to them again to try to learn more about his intelligence activities. Please visit my blog and let me know if any of the Camp Robinson photos look familar. Unfortunately, even though my grandfather kept all the letters he received from my father during the war, my aunt was not able to stop my father from throwing them into the fire while they were clearing out their father’s home. You are so lucky to have your letters. Regards, Nan

    • This is so weird. From the research I have done the National Guard from Kansas and Nebraska rode the same train to Camp Robinson the end of December 1940. I wonder if our Dad’s rode together! And of course Dad’s 110th Quartermaster regiment was disbanded and became the 35th Quartermaster Division which was attached to the 35th Inf. Division overseas. My father was also expecting to be out of the army after a year, but ended up serving until they came home from overseas in 1945. He also was sent to Fort Ord after Pearl Harbor. Then they were stationed on the California Coast for a year. I stopped by and checked out your pictures, awesome! My mother was from Brookville Kansas and her family homesteaded in Kansas in the late 1800’s. Wow I feel like you are family. lol

  9. I am always amazed at the detail you provide. What a treasure chest of memories you have!

    • It was fun finding the telegrams and clippings. I just wish I would have found them sooner. What else might I find? It IS like buried treasure!

  10. Indeed, what an excellent time machine here. Nowadays, “young” people – girl OR boy – walk around in fashions where their bras, panties or shorts are in clear view. Nevertheless, the “yoo-hooing” is still “not politically correct”. 🙂 Quite a conflict. Then and now.

    • So true! Times have changed but have not! Weird!


Leave a Reply

Categories

It's all in a Nutshell

A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Bill Willson

My Writing Life

findingmynewbliss

Lost my bliss looking for a new one

Dear Judy...Letters to Tanzania

What the hell, it's cheaper than postage

The People of Pancho

At Play In The Archive

Wayne's Journal

A life of a B-25 tail gunner with the 42nd Bombardment Group in the South Pacific

