Posted by: notsofancynancy | October 8, 2012

One Year Ago

One year ago today I had the opportunity to visit the 9/11 Memorial in New York. It was a trip I will never forget. Here are a couple of pictures of the day. You can also visit my post “9/11 Memorial~Never Forget” to read more about my visit.

This is one of my favorite images of the day. The reflection is showing a cross and the flag. Coincidence?

In Memory of Alan Feinburg NYPD

Reflection of the flag in the fountain

Paying their Respects, brought a tear to my eye, but they were leaking all day.

Responses

  1. A very moving day.

  2. I have yet to make my way to this place full of such sadness and loss thanks for sharing your day and take on it. It took place on my youngest brothers birthday so I too will never forget the countries loss either

    I used to tral with my rig full of US Mail to NYC each morning as the sun rose such a pretty city to have something so UGLY happen to it.

    HUIGS

  3. Dissimilar to Pearly Harbor, the low-life terrorists targeted civilians. The war has continued since then; yet, even though our fleet was devastated 71 years ago, the “war” ended in less than four years.

    Our brave military have been over-burdened with cut-backs and being “PC”. We cannot be put back into a state of being unable to respond.

  4. Wow – Nancy, I took a group of students to the site when there was still rubble on the ground. It was – even then – one of the most emotional moments of my life. And the students shared the feeling.

  5. Beautiful photos Nancy of a very sacred space.

  6. My tears are with your blog post…thank you.

  7. Beautiful post, Nancy. I really want to visit Ground Zero. My father, grandfather, and uncle were/are all firemen, and I still tear up every single time I think about the 343 who lost their lives that day, not to mention the thousands of innocent civilians, of course.

  8. Thanks for the share Nancy. This event rippled well past the US. I cannot watch a documentary or see a picture without tears rolling. I still remember watching the events unfold here in South Africa on CNN – It was so surreal, It must be so emotional to be at Ground Zero.

  9. Never forget — so many souls lost on that day and ever since, defending freedom around the world. God’s blessings on you for sharing your pictures with us who have not been to see the memorial.

  10. My eyes would have been leaking, too. Wonderful photos. Thank you. Debra


Leave a Reply

Categories

It's all in a Nutshell

A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Bill Willson

My Writing Life

findingmynewbliss

Lost my bliss looking for a new one

Dear Judy...Letters to Tanzania

What the hell, it's cheaper than postage

The People of Pancho

At Play In The Archive

Wayne's Journal

A life of a B-25 tail gunner with the 42nd Bombardment Group in the South Pacific

