Posted by: notsofancynancy | October 21, 2012

What I did on my Vacation 2012

My BFF went first

I traveled to Colorado to visit my childhood BFF for ten days. As you may know I live in the High Desert of Southern California. Although Delta Colorado is pretty much a desert they do have one thing we do not, water. Up the road from Delta is the small town of Cedaredge. This is where my BFF lives. What did we do for the ten days? We got matching Tattoo’s! Crazy, I know but this was how we thought that we would best remember each other and it would tie us together for the rest of our lives. So here are some pictures that showcase our day.

Uriah at Widowsweb Tattoo, Cedaredge Colorado

Then it was my turn

The Finished Product

Another View

Now no matter how far apart we live our lives will always be intertwined.

Responses

  1. So brave! That had to hurt. And I love the look!

    • I have a really big one on my back. My daughter and granddaughter made into fairies. It took close to five hours to finish and I must say this one hurt way more then the one on my back. lol

  2. they are pretty – but I don’t know if I could do it!

  3. You go girls πŸ˜‰ love your new ink!

  4. What a lovely idea and done beautifully too!

  5. Looks like you had a great time!

  6. The things kids do (in later life) with their BFF’s to show solidarity … is a good thing actually πŸ™‚ …. after years of being friends (like 50 of them) my BFF and I are going to do the same thing but on our fanny! Her suggestion; I want the SHS on my shoulder! I really really enjoy reading your blog Nancy.

    • You go girl! I do like the idea of binding with our BFF’s . Remember wherever you put it you need to be able to reach it to put stuff on it to keep it hydrated. I am not sure I would want the ointment on my bum. It may leave an embarrassing stain! lol Thanks for the great compliment!

  7. Good you were able to get away with your bff. Beautiful work! I am going to try to brave my second tat (had one the day I turned 18) but only if I can find a great local portraitist to do one of my Boxers.

    • I miss her so much. We had not seen each other in about 13 years so it was an extra special trip. Good luck with your ink and finding the right artist!

  8. We used to live north of Delta, outside Grand Junction, for four years so I have to ask: Did you get any photos of the beautiful golden Aspen leaves, or has the weather claimed them?

    • They changed while I was there. It was nice and warm when I arrived and while I was there they got a cold spell. It was amazing to see them change. Especially since I live in the desert and we do not get to see it here. Pictures to come!

      • We are looking forward to it.

  9. I enjoy your writings! What a grand idea to get matching tats! A sentimental form of bonding! Enjoyed the play by play photos as well!

    • Thank you so much for the wonderful compliment!

  10. Fantastic! I like the design very much. How much did it hurt getting a tat there?

    • It was very painful! lol I have a tat on my back that took 5 hours to do and I almost feel asleep. This one hurt so bad it made me rethink my decision. Yikes! But would I do it again? Absolutely! hahaha

  11. I’ve always wanted a tattoo but haven’t taken the step yet. These are lovely and I can see why it was painful.

    • Thanks LuAnn! I think you should go for it!

  12. Wow, did not see this post coming at all! Sweet tat.

  13. OK, NotSoFancyNancy is goin Fancy!!!! πŸ™‚

    • I do try! but it usually seems to backfire on me and then I seem to be notsofancy once again! lol

  14. Oooooooh prettiness and bravery!! I had some of my fingernails tattooed with flowers once…because it doesn’t hurt. lol

  15. My daughter and BFF also got matching tattoos – not sure if my BFF and I are up to that!! But we do make making quilts!! LOL It looks good.

  16. What a nice idea! So much prettier than blood brotherhood!

  17. You were artfully creative! What a fun time for you both. You’re right, you’ll never be far apart! πŸ™‚

  18. I’m kind of goint through a phase were Tattoos scare me, but yeah… they are nice. πŸ™‚

    • Scare you??? lol NONE of my are scary!

      • I got scared of my friend’s tattoo… he kinda reminded me of a psychopath! πŸ˜€

      • No wonder you were scared! hahahaha

  19. I admire you for what you were willing to go through to honor and cement your friendship. Good for you!

    • Thank you some people would have thought it frivolous! There are not many I would do this for.

  20. Nice tats! Watch out, getting them can be addictive. I get mine in places where they can’t be seen (don’t want to freak out clients) but soon I’ll run out of room!

    • Thanks! lol I can attest to the addictive nature of the tat! this is my forth!

  21. I love your new tattoo! I want to get one that my husband designs, but I’m a bit scared of the pain.

    • I Can’t lie it hurt like hell but the end result is worth a little pain and how cool that your hubby would design it? Priceless!


Leave a Reply

Categories

It's all in a Nutshell

A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Bill Willson

My Writing Life

findingmynewbliss

Lost my bliss looking for a new one

Dear Judy...Letters to Tanzania

What the hell, it's cheaper than postage

The People of Pancho

At Play In The Archive

Wayne's Journal

A life of a B-25 tail gunner with the 42nd Bombardment Group in the South Pacific

