Posted by: notsofancynancy | November 14, 2012

Caught in the Draft, The Movie

Staring Bob Hop and Dorothy Lamour 1941

I found this news clipping in one of the letters in the suitcases.   It was in a 1941 letter Grandma Susie wrote Dad. Billed as “The Big Laugh Blitz of 1941,” it stared Bob Hope and Dorothy Lamour. According to the website IMDb.com:

Don Bolton is a movie star who can’t stand loud noises. To evade the draft, he decides to get married…but falls for a colonel’s daughter. By mistake, he and his two cronies enlist. In basic training, Don hopes to make a good impression on the fair Antoinette and her father, but his military career is largely slapstick. Will he ever get his corporal’s stripes? Written by Rod Crawford.  

How cool is it that I was able to find the completer movie on You Tube?

So if you have an hour watch the movie it will get you in the mood for the latest chapter in my father’s ongoing World War II Story.  Don’t forget to tune in tomorrow!

Responses

  1. My dad had a crush on Dorothy Lamour.

    • She was a beauty!

      • I think he still has a crush on her.

      • hahahaha I love that!

  2. I thought I had seen most of the WWII movies but I guess I missed this one. While I was unable to watch the entire flick, there is one parachute scene where they film a prototype to the B-17, the Model 299 complete with the blister over the waist gunner position. I thought that was remarkable. 😉

  3. It’s almost hard to remember how it was before the Internet filled in any questions we might have! LOL! It just amazes me sometimes what we can find. Good sleuthing! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

It's all in a Nutshell

A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Bill Willson

My Writing Life

findingmynewbliss

Lost my bliss looking for a new one

Dear Judy...Letters to Tanzania

What the hell, it's cheaper than postage

The People of Pancho

At Play In The Archive

Wayne's Journal

A life of a B-25 tail gunner with the 42nd Bombardment Group in the South Pacific

