Posted by: notsofancynancy | November 27, 2012

Thanksgiving 2012

We headed about 1o miles east of Barstow last Wednesday night to one of my favorite campgrounds for this time of the year. It is conveniently located next to Rainbow Basin Natural Area . The weather was expected to be in the 70’s and the nights cool. I love the desert in the wintertime. Just because it gets cold at night does not mean you won’t be wearing shorts when the sun is up.

A quiet camp

We were meeting my step daughter, her family, and camping buddies for thanksgiving dinner in the desert. The campground was sure quiet and the weather was perfect. I was able to get some time to work on Dad’s letters. All the more significant when you know my Dad’s ashes were scattered not to far from here. It was a place we would go when I was a kid. Dad loved to camp.

Finally Friday afternoon we watched the dust coming from the flat lands sending plumes of dust into the clear desert sky. I knew someone was coming,  but not who was expected. The troop started rolling in but it was not our troop it was a troop of boy scouts along with, what we would find out the next day,  a rocket club.

The View

Rainbow Basin Natural Area

We roasted a turkey and made all the traditional sides. Then ended the night with five different pies. The scenery was beautiful, the weather perfect. I am thankful to have had such a wonderful weekend with good friends and family.

Rainbow Basin

Another View

Another Great View

Kiva and Pixie

Responses

  1. I’m jealous!!

  2. Good grief, I’d say you when camping on Mars ala ‘Mar’s rover pics’, but there’s you little fur balls so I guess you weren’t on Mars.

  3. What a great place to spend Thanksgiving. 🙂

    • It really was! We have been going out there for five years now and it never disappoints.

  4. What a glorious location and the views are all so much better when you have the place to yourselves!

    • Yes it is a wonderful place and really quiet!

  5. Oh.. its really great !!

  6. The scenery looks out of this world literally, really nice.

    • Thanks it is so quiet there it seems like your out of this world! lol

  7. I also love that area and am so glad you all had a great Holiday the pips look pooped 🙂 Fun had by all!

    • We did have a great time!

      • I am so happy!

        We spent the day in VT with friends and their older children I was glad to get back home and give my thanks for all we have which is not much at all but so much more than those teens give their Mom so sad.
        Ride up and back was beautiful so different than area you were in 🙂

  8. I think it is wonderful you were close to “Lefty”… I can see why he would have loved that place…

    • He really did love this area and so do I!

  9. I agree, it is a beautiful place to spend Thanksgiving. It looks so relaxing.

  10. What a wonderful Thanksgiving!


Leave a Reply

Categories

It's all in a Nutshell

A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Bill Willson

My Writing Life

findingmynewbliss

Lost my bliss looking for a new one

Dear Judy...Letters to Tanzania

What the hell, it's cheaper than postage

The People of Pancho

At Play In The Archive

Wayne's Journal

A life of a B-25 tail gunner with the 42nd Bombardment Group in the South Pacific

