Posted by: notsofancynancy | June 14, 2013

Flag Day & Army Birthday 2013

Happy Flag Day!

I was not sure exactly what flag day was so I looked it up. You gotta love technology, a world of information at your finger tips.

Flag Day is the day that the US adopted our flag way back in 1777. It is not a federal holiday and it is at the president discretion to whether to observe it or not. I found that interesting.  It is also on this day in The United States Army was adopted by congress in 1775.

As with any holiday I honor those in the 110th/35th Quartermaster and what better way to honor them than with this picture of my Dad in the Color Guard, standing proud representing and ready to fight for his country. A big thanks to all who stand proud behind our flag.

Dad on the left in the Color Guard.... sometime in the 1940's

Dad on the left in the Color Guard…. sometime in the 1940’s

Responses

  1. I’ve read today is Army Birthday too – Have a wonderful Flag Day & Army Birthday – as I read the first post about the flag day today, my first thought was about your dad.

    • You have touched my heart, thank you for honoring my dad!

  2. He does look proud!

    • This is one thing I do know. He was very, very proud!


Leave a Reply

Categories

It's all in a Nutshell

A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Bill Willson

My Writing Life

findingmynewbliss

Lost my bliss looking for a new one

Dear Judy...Letters to Tanzania

What the hell, it's cheaper than postage

The People of Pancho

At Play In The Archive

Wayne's Journal

A life of a B-25 tail gunner with the 42nd Bombardment Group in the South Pacific

