Posted by: notsofancynancy | July 30, 2013

Weekly Photo Challenge: Masterpiece

Murray Combs Courtesy of the Combs Family

Murray Combs Courtesy of the Combs Family

Well ok that World War II Soldier on the left is not a part of this masterpiece. In my eyes it makes it better. I believe this to be Murray Combs who served in the same division as my dad. I was contacted recently by his grandson and was blessed when he shared fifty more pictures of my dad’s time overseas.

I have not yet been able to identify the statue so if you have seen it somewhere let me know. It can be anywhere from France to Germany and this was taken about 1944-5

Make sure to tune in Thursday for the next installment in my father’s World War II story.

Responses

  1. Having been thru many countries in Europe, I was actually somewhat surprised that so many beautiful buildings, fountains and statues survived WWII. I do remember our tour guide Pointing out bullet holes in one church in one German town though. Can’t imagine the trauma. How great to get a bunch more photo’s.

    • Wow! I bet there are many places with bullet holes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

It's all in a Nutshell

A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Bill Willson

My Writing Life

findingmynewbliss

Lost my bliss looking for a new one

Dear Judy...Letters to Tanzania

What the hell, it's cheaper than postage

The People of Pancho

At Play In The Archive

Wayne's Journal

A life of a B-25 tail gunner with the 42nd Bombardment Group in the South Pacific

