Posted by: notsofancynancy | September 12, 2013

World War II, chapter 81, Victory in Europe Day

World War II

Victory in Europe Day

Chapter 81

Unknown Soldier's Courtesy of Murray Combs Family

Unknown Soldier’s Courtesy of Murray Combs Family

It seems like these last few chapters we find Dad pretty busy. He is doing all the maintenance on his truck as well as trying to keep it clean in a not so clean country. Then he stands guard and works on his correspondence course. If nothing else it makes the time go faster.

6 May, Burgdorf, Germany

My Darlings, Hi Honey. I didn’t get in last night until 9 and took a bath and went right to bed. Boy was I tired. Didn’t get any mail so there wasn’t anything to write about anyway. I did today though. Got one from you and a V-mail from Aunt Rosa and Uncle George. So I felt better. The mail had forgotten me for about 4 days.  I guess your [sic] getting yourself a job spoiling Butch. When I get home she won’t have a thing to do with me. So you’ll have to take care of her. “HaHa” Won’t that be nice. We had a U.S.O. show today and was it good. I laughed until I thought I spilt a gut. They had two girl [sic] one a singer and the other just all around. And three men. I think I heard the best accordion player today. He was really good.  I don’t think I’ve had a banana since I left the states. I would even settle for a chocolate banana split. Remember the one I bought you. One of Rosa & Harold’s twins died about 3 weeks after it was born. Le Roy is the other. I guess I never did tell you about them. Died just one week after Mom did. Aunt Clara didn’t have much to say. Said Betty won’t be going to teach next year. Although they offered her $25 more a month.  Guess its [sic] been awful wet there. They hadn’t been in to the folks for a while. She says Pard comes home every time he gets a 48 hour pass. Guess he gets at least 15 hrs home. Well gosh honey this isn’t all the news but I’m all run down tonight. Perhaps more tomorrow I’ll see you then. I love you my Darling. I love you so much honey. I love you I love you I love you Mommie I love you so much. All my love, Lefty

Marvin Cain's Quartermaster Lapel Pin Courtesy of the Cain Family

Marvin Cain’s Quartermaster Lapel Pin Courtesy of the Cain Family

7 May 1945 Hostilities with German Forces end to be effective 0001 9 May 1945

According to Wikipedia:

Victory in Europe Day—known as V-E Day or VE Day—was the public holiday celebrated on 8 May 1945 (in Commonwealth countries, 7 May 1945) to mark the date when the World War II Allies formally accepted the unconditional surrender of the armed forces of Nazi Germany and the end of Adolf Hitler’s Third Reich, thus ending the war in Europe. The formal surrender of the occupying German forces in the Channel Islands was not until 9 May 1945. On 30 April Hitler committed suicide during the Battle of Berlin, and so the surrender of Germany was authorized by his successor, President of Germany Karl Dönitz. The administration headed by Dönitz was known as the Flensburg government. The act of military surrender was signed on 7 May in Reims, France, and on 8 May in Berlin, Germany.

8 May, Burgdorf, Germany

My Darling Wife & Mary Lynn, Well Mommie V-E day. Finally here we have been looking forward to the day for a long time. Once we thought perhaps it wouldn’t last as long as it did. But you know it was just another day for us. Had the same things to do and did them as usual. It wasn’t as we expected. Nothing of the sort. We didn’t even get any mail to celebrate on. Boy these mail less days are bad now. We sweat out many days before and still are.

That is it? It was a day of celebrating at home in the States  but for our soldiers still in the field it was just another day. We have all seen the pictures of Times Square and how they celebrated. It was not like that for these soldiers they still had a job to do and do it they did.

I got a letter from you today. Boy it sure was nice. Any letter from you is just pretty damn good in any language. I love you Mommie. You know the 1st of May I don’t even know what I was doing. Had to ask what today was. It doesn’t really make much difference. We work in the day time and sleep at night if we haven’t anything to do. And one should be able to tell the difference there. Wow it doesn’t seem like Mary Lynn should be getting teeth yet. Boy it won’t be long until she will be a big girl huh. Man the things you tell sure make me feel like popping the buttons a few times myself. Bet she is a little pill. And man how much I want to get out of this God Damn country and home to you and her. Will that be a happy day for me. I’m glad Mom & Pop like the idea of having Mary. I knew they would but with me over here and all I wonder if they didn’t think me sort of a heel or something. Just got “The Stars and Stripes” and there is a big head line VICTORY. Guess I am going to have to read—Little Abner. Well I didn’t get to read it but I guess the folks back home had quite a celebration. Well more power to them. If they can celebrate good??? I love you my Darling. I love you so much honey. Gee Darling I love you I love you Mommie. I love you. All my Love, Lefty

Courtesy of Murray Combs Family

Courtesy of Murray Combs Family

My sister will turn four months old on 11th May I have to wonder how much longer it will be until Dad is finally sent home.

10 May, Burgdorf, Germany

My Darlings, Well honey this damn country finally warmed up. Its [sic] worse than some of those days I came to see you and had on a wool uniform. Boy I sweat today. I brought the truck in. Come up and took a shower and walk[ed] back though the park and what do you know a damn tire blew out. The spare to boot. Don’t know why it should have done that and it did and I had to fix it. And that was that. I sweat like a working man again. That isn’t the half of it. I have a heat rash on my face and if I am not mistaken I won’t be looking so good tomorrow. This Army is suppose [sic] to make a man of one. I would like to see him. I was never bothered like that before. Now every time it gets hot I do it. Lucky if it isn’t all over me like some have it. Didn’t get any mail from you today. Did get a letter from the church. Sure wish I could get home so I could get acquainted around there. It wouldn’t be quite so bad then. The way it is I just don’t know anything about such so I don’t do anything. I know I should but don’t. I have a “Stars and Strips.” I’ll send and you can read all about it. And it will save me a lot of writing. I guess you can read that better anyway. How many pictures have you gotten all together. I don’t remember exactly how many I sent but can come pretty close. Hope they all came. Well Mommie I hope Mary Lynn is pretty well now and not to [sic] spoiled. Boy would I like to see her. I love you my Darling I love you so much honey. I love you Mommie I love you I love you I love you so much. All my love, Lefty

13 May, Burgdorf, Germany

My Darlings, Boy two letters from you today. And did I need them. Came in from a long trip (just last night I told you there wouldn’t be much to do here) But the letters were sure good. We came in and had to go someplace else for supper because we knew we wouldn’t get anything here and didn’t have anything for dinner but a sandwich so was pretty hungry. Got fed though so everyone’s happy for tonight. Sure are going to have to get those GI’s on the ball taking those pictures. Going to have to have them. Have I been showing the ones I have. Everyone thinks Mary is awful cute. Bob sure wishes he had one of his own now. I wish he had one too. He would have a chance of getting out too. Not much of a chance without a baby though. I’m sure glad Uncle Gerald’s operation might be a success. It will be a long time though huh. Well it won’t be so bad if Aunt Dick can be there with him and see him once in a while. Don’t talk about warm weather to me. I’ll bet I sweat off 10 pounds today and couldn’t afford it either. Its [sic] awful hot here. Drop in honey and we’ll have a beer. I’m having one now. Of course the Ice Man doesn’t come around so its [sic] really good beer. The best I have drank over here. Now I’m out of something to write.  Sure wish they would release the censorship a little and maybe I could write something. Had quite a deal today. But can’t tell about it.  You know Mary is getting to be quite grown up now. Man if I could only get home. Boy Honey I’m hoping more every day. Well I love you my darling. I love you so much honey. I love you I love you Mommie. I love you Darling. I love you. All my love Darlings, Lefty

Grandma Susie and Mary Lynn

Grandma Susie and Mary Lynn

14 May, Burgdorf, Germany

Hello Darlings, Well I didn’t write again last night. Didn’t have time. Had a 9:00 detail and was tired when I got home. I guess I’ll be having a little more time now for a month. At least things look so. Am on a D.S. [I wonder what that means?] and haven’t to [sic] much to do except keep the trucks going and that isn’t so hard. Haven’t gotten any mail for the last three days so really haven’t much to say. Have been discussing the chances of getting out. Cross your fingers honey. Perhaps nothing definite though. No one knows much of whats [sic] to happen. Well I’ll dream anyway. You know I might keep on and get something said yet. Have been shooting the bull and trying to write both. It has taken me over an hour to write the first two paragraphs and haven’t gotten anything said. Its [sic[ sure been hot around here. You know I believe its [sic] summer. Sure am getting to hate to do anything. Its [sic] just to[sic] hot. And do I sweat. Boy its [sic] cool right now though and I don’t think its [sic] as hot as in Alabama. So we have that to think about. Sure did a good one today. Washed my shirt and didn’t get it dry until to [sic] late for chow. The other was already in the laundry so I haven’t a shirt to put on. Did borrow one to go to a show. Had seen it before so won’t say much about it. Has Mary been learning more new tricks lately. Boy sure hope I get home to you two damn soon. Well honey this is about the end for tonight.

Hope I get some mail tomorrow so I can have something to write. I love you honey. I love you so much Darling. I love you I love you sweet I love you Mommie I love you. All my love Darlings, Lefty

15 May, Burgdorf, Germany

My Darlings, Well honey I’m going to write if I get this pen in the same mood I’m in. I’m all bursting with news. Got a letter from Madelyn Murphy today. She is getting married in July. Let’s go to her wedding huh! Man she must really be in love cause that’s about all she talked about. He is a sailor and is stationed near Oakland. And man did she tell about him. About all I don’t know is when he was born. She even said she would send me a picture of them. Hope its [sic] here soon. I didn’t write last night. Had a drivers meeting and then went to a show. The meeting didn’t take long but we discussed it and the show was good.  Don’t remember the name right now. You say Pop is driving back to Kansas. Is Mom going too? Are you and Mary? Just checking up on those things. Information might come in handy. It always does. We have had Ice Cream the last two nights for supper. Man is it good. Hits the spot too. But darn weather cooled off and its [sic] {kinda chilly. You talking about yours and Mary Lynn’s appetite. Have a pretty good one lately. Have been eating all the time here lately. Making up for the times I missed. Sure hope we can keep on a steady diet now for a while. Sure sounds like Mary is gaining weight. You wrote 12# 7oz and Mom said 13# something. Sounds good to me. I’m rushing this have to go on guard in about 20 minutes. And that isn’t that long. I got a letter from Eva yesterday too and she is having boy trouble. AS usual. Said the one she was engaged to sent her some things from over here. I love you my Darling. I love you Mommie. I love you so much. I love you I love you honey. I love you. All my love, Lefty

VE-Day and no end in sight for the men of the 35th Quartermaster. After all these men had to haul the men going home as well as get supplies to those who were still in the field. The Quartermaster has a lot of work to do before they can go home.

Robert “Bob” Winter

Responses

  1. Dad’s response to V-E Day–“That is it? It was a day of celebrating at home in the States, but for our soldiers still in the field, it was just another day.” That statement said it all. “…I’ll be having a little more time now for a month. Am on a D. S.” That had to mean a temporary duty status of some kind. Your father wasn’t in poor health, so it couldn’t be that.

    • I think you may be right. It seems like he is sent somewhere else for a bit. And yes it was just another day. In my mind I think that is the day the shooting and bombing stopped. I am sure I am wrong.

      • You are right, the European war was over, but in those days, it took a while for the word to get out. There was a lot of mess to clean up, order restored, basic necessities needed to be provided to refugees. The GI’s had a lot of hard work ahead.

  2. Very interesting how little celebration there was in Europe and how much work was still left to be done. The end of one job and the beginning of another.

    • Yes Will I was surprised. Being a truck driver must have been a tough job at this time in the war.


Leave a Reply

Categories

It's all in a Nutshell

A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Bill Willson

My Writing Life

findingmynewbliss

Lost my bliss looking for a new one

Dear Judy...Letters to Tanzania

What the hell, it's cheaper than postage

The People of Pancho

At Play In The Archive

Wayne's Journal

A life of a B-25 tail gunner with the 42nd Bombardment Group in the South Pacific

