Posted by: notsofancynancy | September 17, 2013

Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside

Inside a restored bunkhouse at Manzanar Internment camp. All the signs would have been other buildings.

Inside a restored bunkhouse at Manzanar Internment camp. All the signs would have been other buildings.

I am not sure why I have been so drawn to the Manzanar Internment camp. The first time I ever went there the only thing that was standing was the auditorium. The rest of the property was overgrown with trees and the ravages of time. If you looked you could find a pear tree or rock work where the secrets of this overgrown place called out to me. I  bought a book called “Farewell to Manzanar.” It was a must read and opened my eyes to what happened in this place.

Pleasure Park is being restored

Pleasure Park is being restored

I spoke with my father about it and where I had compassion for what was done he still held distain for what he went through. It is something I cannot comprehend. This was sometime in the 90’s and although I do not remember his words I knew this was the last time I would speak to him about it. I would never understand his feelings but something he said made me think he provided transportation to this camp. He did not directly say he did but I just had a feeling.

Auditorium at Manzanar

Auditorium at Manzanar

On this trip to Manzanar I was surprised when in a display were some bowls and dishes from “The Quartermaster.” The official kind with the logo on it. This still does not provide me with an answer to whether he was actually there or not but maybe, maybe not.

Responses

  1. Have never been to Mansanar, but….

    The author of Farewell to Mansanar spoke at our Library last year. She is a wonderful, soft spoken woman and is in the midst of writing another book. I count her as a friend. Her brother is a patron.

    Love ya

    • Oh I am sorry I missed that. Would love to have been there.

  2. What a moving piece here, notsofancynancy. And indeed, to accept that “you will never know” of your father’s connection to Manzanar must be difficult. I really loved that door shot from “inside”.

    I also thank you for stopping by Manzanar and your interest in its history.

    • To me it is like going to Native American ruins. I feel it is sacred. It was like that the first time I went there back when it was nothing but trees and I knew nothing about what it was. It makes one want to walk softly, respectfully. Thank you for sharing your connection because it makes it even more real and special to me.

  3. I like your interpretation and choice of photo for the challenge Nancy. It’s hard to imagine what these people went thru. There is a collections of stories and photo’s in Banff Canada presently about the internment of Ukrainians during WWI. There was a camp at Castle Mountain. I hope I can get to see it as we had a relative held there. I leave the link for you in case you’re interested.

    http://www.calgaryherald.com/opinion/op-ed/Luciuk+Banff+finally+tells+story+Ukrainian+internees/8562556/story.html

    There’s things I wish I had talked to my dad about too. So many missed opportunities.

    • Very interesting Boomde! And way earlier than the ones here in the states. You MUST go when you have the chance. It is a sad part of reality and we must not forget.

      • What I didn’t realize is there were children born in these camps because when the men were interned, families followed as the women had no way to support themselves. I really must go. I’ll post when I do.

      • Oh I can’t wait to learn more! Whole families were interned here so I know there must have been many born. I tried to research how many were born there with no luck. 11,000 Japanese Americans passed through just Manzanar so I am sure many were born in them all over the country. Pearl Harbor had just been bombed and they wanted to get them away from the coast so they set up many here. It was a scary time for the States, I understand that.

      • WOW, 11,000. That’s immense, hard to wrap my brain around really. Hope it never comes to that again.

      • Yes! We must not forget!


Leave a Reply

Categories

It's all in a Nutshell

A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Bill Willson

My Writing Life

findingmynewbliss

Lost my bliss looking for a new one

Dear Judy...Letters to Tanzania

What the hell, it's cheaper than postage

The People of Pancho

At Play In The Archive

Wayne's Journal

A life of a B-25 tail gunner with the 42nd Bombardment Group in the South Pacific

