Posted by: notsofancynancy | October 3, 2014

How Much Do You Love Me? by Paul Mark Tag

by Paul Mark Tag

by Paul Mark Tag

What you may not know about me is I love to read so when I was contacted to do a review on a historical novel based on the history of the Japanese internment in 1942 I jumped at the chance. After Pearl Harbor was bombed the Internment of 110-120,000 Japanese to get them away from the shoreline has always fascinated me. My father was sent to help guard the coast of California so this story ties right in to his.

In his book, How much do you love me? Paul Mark Tag weaves a tale based around the Tule Lake internment Camp in Northern California. Having been to and done research on the Manzanar Camp a couple hours away from my home I was interested to see how true to history Mr. Tag kept his novel. I was impressed to say the least and I have to admit I may have learned some new facts I did not know. Although this book is a work of fiction Tag’s descriptions of the camps and what went on there was right on. I felt like his characters could been anyone of the hundreds of thousand internees that actually were at the facilities but the twists he puts on the fictional part of story is never ending.

Keiko Tanaka and James Armstrong, and here is the first twist, a bi-racial couple meet and fall in love before the bombing of Pearl Harbor. With the outbreak of war James Armstrong proposes to Japanese-American Keiko before James enlists in the Navy. They marry before he ships out while she and her family are sent to the Tule Lake internment camp. The novel jumps from 2000 where James and Keiko’s kids are trying to come to terms with dealing with the last days of their parents lives to the 1940’s as Keiko’s family deals with their internment. Oh and what good secrets Mr. Tag has weaved into this story.

If you like this era and want to learn more about the history this book will do you good. I will put it in my top ten favorite historical novels.

 

Amazon, How Mow Much Do You Love Me?

Visit Paul Mark Tag’s website by clicking here

Responses

  1. Thanks for a great review, I will look for this book :o)

    • It was a great book. I know you will enjoy it!

  2. Sounds thoroughly intriguing!

    • That is the exact word I would use! Intriguing!

    • In case you have Kindle or whatever it is the electronic version is available on Amazon for 99 cents!

  3. My grandmother’s sister, on my Mom’s side, married a Japanese man. By the time W W 2 came around, they had 9 children. They were “collected” and sent to the Pomona fairgrounds for about 6 months. At the end of that time frame, the father of those American citizens was sent to Heart Mountain, Wyoming. At the end of the war, my grandmother’s sister found out her husband had passed away sometime in the intervening years. She and her children never saw or heard from him again. I think that was a terrible action in our American history.
    Rudy G.

    • Oh did you know that Santa Anita was a processing place? and then turned into housing German Prisoners? Check out this article I posted a while back

      http://wp.me/p2eEip-PM

  4. I totally agree Rudy…. It was a sad time in the US. I just can’t imagine how scared people were after Pearl Harbor was bombed but wow.

    If you get a chance and like to read check this book out. Mr. Tag really does a good job with the history of the camp. It is really sad what they were put through once they were interred. The rules and regulations and such. It really gives you a better understanding of what all happened there and how they were made to live.

    Sad, sad,sad

  5. Because of Mustang Koji’s posts about his family, I was pleased to have learned enough to know what you were talking about. I am intrigued by this book.

    • It is certainly a good one. I have been visiting Manzanar for about 25 years now and have seen the site go from an overgrown oak tree grove to now they are reviving the site and have a museum there. In their is a list of names of the internees and imagine my surprise when right there in published words was his last name. It really made it real!

      • I saw Koji’s pictures from there. I can’t imagine the emotion of being there. If I ever got to that end of the country I would hope to visit.

    • In case you are interested in this wonderful book and you have Kindle it is on sale for only 99 cents on Amazon!

      • I shall check it out! 🙂

    • No… My ears were not burning. 🙂

  6. Thank you so much for your kind review! I really appreciate it.

    • Wow! Thank you I really loved your book. Thank you for staying true to history. It is important we don’t forget.

      • I agree. As you probably noted from my Preface, one of my goals in writing this book was to shine a light on this stain on our historical consciousness–particularly for younger generations who may or may not have learned about the internment in their high school history classes.

      • I know I had no idea of this tragic time in our history until I went to Manzanar. Back then there was only a self guided tour. I bought “Farewell to Manzanar” and learned from that first hand account and by visiting the museum in Independence Ca. Now years later they are reviving the history there. I once spoke with my dad about it but I think because he was stationed on the coast and Pearl Harbor was such a turning point in WWII he was not able to see what an injustice we imposed on the Japanese-Americans. He only saw it as a scared American, scared the coast of California would be attacked. I only spoke with him about it once, siding with the injustice done. He was still angry 60 years after the war. On my last visit to Manzanar in an exhibit in their museum I saw some stoneware rediscovered in Manzanar. Interesting enough it said “Quartermaster” on it. That is what my dad was so now I wonder if he had anything to do with the driving people or supplies there. It is something I will never know. Regardless we must never forget and your book did a fine job of preserving this history so thank you

  7. Thank you for writing about this novel, Nancy. Indeed, world war took its toll on EVERY family involved. Now you got me thinking about a Kindle; the book sounds interesting! As you know, dad, two aunts and uncles and eight cousins lived in those camps, split between Manzanar and Tule Lake/Minidoka. Like Lefty, there was heightened anger, fright…and FDR. at that time.

    • I thought you may be interested my friend. My puter has a place in it that I can read kindle stuff???? I was happy to see that Mr. Tag wrote about it cause we must never forget!

      • I did buy a Kindle then read his fine novel. In many ways, the family’s travels from Seattle to Pinedale to Tule Lake to Minidoka overlaps my own family’s journey – down to births and deaths in the camp. I did read about some details of camp life I had not heard before but nearly all of it was experienced by my dad and fam.

      • Very Interesting Koji. I thought he did a good job of the historical side of the story. I hope you enjoyed it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

It's all in a Nutshell

A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Bill Willson

My Writing Life

findingmynewbliss

Lost my bliss looking for a new one

Dear Judy...Letters to Tanzania

What the hell, it's cheaper than postage

The People of Pancho

At Play In The Archive

Wayne's Journal

A life of a B-25 tail gunner with the 42nd Bombardment Group in the South Pacific

