Posted by: notsofancynancy | May 23, 2015

New Projects

Here are the projects I have been working on the last week or so.

Beau's Blanket

Beau’s Blanket

I wanted to create a piece to show my support to the gay community. I knew that I wanted it to be the colors of the Gay Flag, the colors of the rainbow. So I created this wonderful blanket. It is smallish about 45 inches. I love the way it turned out. I sold it right away to Beau. It looks great on him.

Beau donning her blanket

Beau donning his blanket

Next, I made this owl trivet because I found a free pattern for it on Zooty Owl’s Blog. I had to give it a go and here is my take on it. Zelnia Oliver has some great pieces and a lot of her patterns are fee. The pieces she crochets and her patterns are what made me fall in love with crocheting. Stop by and check out her blog.

http://zootyowlcards.blogspot.com/

Zooty Owl

Zooty Owl

I sold two of these and then got a request. “Can you make a cow like this owl?” Well apparently I can. I started with Zelnia’s pattern and went from there. Previously I found the black and white yarn made by Red Heart, called Zebra. When I first saw the color it intrigued me. So when I was buying yarn one day I bought a skein and made a headband and a hat out of it. It is a fun color. So when I got this request I knew it was just the right choice. I could not find a pattern for a cow trivet so I had to improvise. Here is my first one. I call it my prototype/pattern. I will keep the first one to reference if I need to make another.

My first attempt

My first attempt

I sold three!!! I made some changes to the next one. I made the ears smaller and put some pink inside. I did not love the eyes so I made new ones with color and eyelids, and I made the bow a better proportion.

Robin's Cow

Robin’s Cow

While I was looking for a pattern for the cow I saw this really cute Zebra Hat on the Adorably Hooked blog.

http://adorablyhooked.blogspot.com/2012/03/newborn-zebra-hat-free-pattern.html

It was so cute I knew I wanted to try it so here is my version.

Zebra Hat

                       Zebra Hat

Then, Then I got a request. “Can you make a snow owl?”

Snow Owl?

                         Snow Owl?

How was your week?

Here is a link to my Etsy store. I also do special orders so if you don’t see anything you like send me a message and lets create together! It will be so much fun!

https://www.etsy.com/shop/Hotoffthehook4U?ref=search_shop_redirect

Responses

  1. stunning!

  2. Wonderfully creative stuff!

    • Thank you!! its been fun! Who knew I could make something so pretty


Leave a Reply

Categories

It's all in a Nutshell

A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Bill Willson

My Writing Life

findingmynewbliss

Lost my bliss looking for a new one

Dear Judy...Letters to Tanzania

What the hell, it's cheaper than postage

The People of Pancho

At Play In The Archive

Wayne's Journal

A life of a B-25 tail gunner with the 42nd Bombardment Group in the South Pacific

