Posted by: notsofancynancy | June 17, 2015

Jelly & Bean

I am so excited to tell you we found a hummingbird nest. My hubby found it when he saw the mama fly out of the lilac bush right next to the garage.

May 29th

May 29th

I sneak a peek every couple of days.

Two eggs

Two eggs

The nest is so small about three inches across. Bean arrived June 9th.

Bean

Bean

Jelly arrived on the 10th. They really are as small as Jelly Beans.

Jelly's arrival

Jelly’s arrival

I can’t believe how much they grew in four days!

Four days old

Four days old

Did you know that these babies come knowing to poo out of the nest? It fascinates me. I use to follow a live hummingbird cam and I saw it with my own eyes. They were just sitting there when one of them moved their bum out of the nest and pooed. Look at the sides of the nests where the babies bum’s are.

June 16th

June 16th

And God Smiled!

Desert Rainbow

Desert Rainbow

Responses

  1. I saw a hummingbird near our Lilac bush outside out kitchen window yesterday so will have to check to see if there is a nest there.  We have a medal yard plant hanger just a few feet on the other side of the bush where we kept hummingbird feeder last year so hopefully we will have a next too.  That is exciting. Judy

    • I bet you have one! They are very small so look close!

  2. They are such a wonder to watch grow. I hope you are there for first flight as well!

    • It is and has been really fun. It is like an adventure to go out and see them. I love it!

  3. Oh my gosh! I’d be so excited, too! What fun to watch. 🙂

  4. Nancy, you are so blessed to have these beautiful tiny wonders of nature to watch hatch and grow. I hope they come back to you year after year.

    • Thank you. I do feel blessed to witness this!

  5. And my boy smiled with God. =) He loves the post.

  6. Amazing photograohs! I love hummingbirds.

    Peta

    • We love them here too!!! We have five different window feeders and this time of the year I have seen up to ten fighting for them. I love watching them


Leave a Reply

Categories

It's all in a Nutshell

A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Bill Willson

My Writing Life

findingmynewbliss

Lost my bliss looking for a new one

Dear Judy...Letters to Tanzania

What the hell, it's cheaper than postage

The People of Pancho

At Play In The Archive

Wayne's Journal

A life of a B-25 tail gunner with the 42nd Bombardment Group in the South Pacific

