Posted by: notsofancynancy | June 23, 2012

My Dad and the Shotgun

The Girls

Recently I unearthed some photo’s that were taken at the only slumber party I ever had. It had to have been about 1970. There were 8 of us girls there. I would say our ages had to be about 12-14. We were a bunch of teen girls all in one house.  I was surprised that my mom allowed it but since she did I was running with the idea before she changed her mind.

We got to use our patio as our own little private cabin. The sweet scented pine boards lining the walls put there by my father’s own hand, made it more believable.  My dad had a brick fireplace built and the walls of “our cabin” showcased pictures of places we had traveled. The ones I remember most were ones taken of the hot pools and “Old Faithful,” in Yosemite.  A pair of steer horn’s hung over the mantel in honor of our ancestors who lived a hard life as homesteaders in Kansas and Nebraska back in the late 1800’s. This pair was given to my dad by his brother, my Uncle Mike.  There was an old radio and cupboard built into the pine walls. The radio no longer works but to this day it still resides in that wall right where my dad put it when they built the room some 50 years ago now. The shinny cement floor was always cool in the summertime. It was the perfect place to have a slumber party.  As each of my friends arrived Mom and Dad opened the door to our private cabin and let each girl in. The back door leads to our own outside private play area. The house we grew up in had a nice size yard and it was really a fun place to be.

The “Cabin”

I don’t remember much of the actual party but I do remember what happened that night.  The boys we hung out with were going to come and crash our party. Our house was only one house from the corner so they would only have to go through the crazy ladies (doesn’t everyone have a crazy lady in their neighborhood?) back yard to get into ours.  Instead of coming across the back yards they chose to hop the fence that separated the front yard to the back. Unfortunately for them it passed right under my parent’s window. We knew the boys were coming and we watched anxiously out of the dog door in the back door for their arrival. What we saw confused us. When we finally glimpsed the boys they were running across the yard as fast as if a dog was chasing them. They hopped over the fence in one jump and were gone. They looked as if they had seen a ghost, and we were perplexed at why they did not stop and come to the dog door as planned. As Cookie and I hung out the dog door as far as we could try to figure out where they went, the door from the house to the patio slowly opened…I jumped, could it be a ghost that scared the boys away? Our house was quiet except for labored breathing of the girls that were behind me now, mouths open and eyes wide. It seemed like it took forever for that door to open. When our eyes adjusted to the dark there stood my Dad with shotgun in hand.  Cookie and I knew we were in trouble but still we tried to act like we did not know those boys plans.

Cookie in her Jamies

I will never forget how my dad looked with the light at his back as he slowly opened that door to our dark cool cabin. He looked like a very tall shadow with the outline of that shotgun pointing in what we were sure was right at us! We screamed! It was really like a one of those slasher movies where all the kids got killed. Thank God it was only my dad and Thank God he was on our side.

It was a story we still talk about this day some 40 years later and one I laughed about with my dad until he passed. What a great memory that was and I am so happy that because of facebook I am actually able to be in touch with some of the girls from that memorable slumber party. And if any of them read this. Thank you so much for being a part of such fun memories.

© August 20, 2011, notsofancynancy


Responses

  1. This story is simply outstanding. It brings back memories from those years–thanks for sharing!

    • Thank you so much! Outstanding is an awesome word when you are talking about my writing! Yea Me!

  2. You HAVE to record your stories at LegacyStories.org! Talking photos are priceless, as are your stories!! So funny!

    • Thank you so much! I have bookmarked it and will go back and check it out when I have time! Thanks for the props!

  3. Ah, just the mention of a slumber party can bring you back to your summertime youth. Thanks for the trip down memory lane.

    • I know, right? Thanks for taking the time to read it. That is one party I will never forget!

  4. Oh slumber parties! I was only allowed one in my youth as well. My brothers crashed that one for me. I can still remember my Dad catching them at it and the trouble they got into for mooning half of the girls from my fourth grade class! Oh the laughs now, but I was horrified at the time. Dads are awesome aren’t they! 🙂

    • Yes, yes they are. Mooning fourth graders? I bet you all were grossed out. And what would their parents think? hahahaha love it!

  5. Fun memory!

    …and to answer the question, “doesn’t everyone have a crazy lady in their neighborhood?”

    Yes. I think I might be the resident crazy lady in my neighborhood.

    • In my book not sure a bad thing, unless you were the crazy lady next door to us! She was really crazy. She was scary crazy.

  6. Great story!

  7. roflmbo!! Great visual, Nancy!! I never got to have one but I remember great slumber parties at a friends out in the country. Dancin’ with Wolfman Jack and the Midnight Special and dreamin’ of boys! She had this old clock that chimed and we told scary stories and the clock would chime and scare the bejeebies out of us! Great memories! Thanks for reminding us of them! I had one friend whose big intimidating father would tie up her boyfriends to a chair and grill them. Not many second dates for her!! =)) At least that her parents knew about! 😉

    • We had a cuckoo clock that did the same thing! lol That is so funny about the dad tying up the boyfriend up to to the chair. funny!

  8. Great post and story. I could almost hear the squeals when I read about the door opening and your dad standing there with a shotgun. Reminded me of the time my dad scared off a guy I was trying to break up with and he just wouldn’t go away. My dad met him in the driveway with a shotgun one night that guy backed his car up, sped away and neither of us saw him again. Wonder how many shotgun stories there are out there. Hugs

    • I love that our fathers were willing to protect us the way they knew how. thanks for sharing your story it made me smile!

  9. Hi there! Great blog and thanks a bunch for checking mine out! My mom says she remembers wearing the same shirts as you girls are wearing in your pictures. I’m confused- if they are the same shirts, then you guys must have shared clothes, right?? But Mom says she’s never met you… I’m very glad I always have my own coat to wear.

    • Thanks for stopping by! I think the shirts you are talking about are baby doll PJ’s. lol I am glad you have your own coat too! and what a pretty coat it is!

  10. What a hoot! With moving around so much when I was growing up we did not go on sleepovers – so I enjoyed reading your adventures in a sleepover. 😀 Patty PS You are just keeping me in smiles today as I catch up on my reading.

    • I LOVE that! I love that my blog makes you smile!

  11. This coming weekend I will be spending time with six girlfriends I’ve known since I was about seven years old! That means more than 50 years! Seeing your slumber party pictures just makes me smile as I think of the memories I share with these dear visiting friends. Heartwarming! Good to see your smiles, too! Debra

    • Thanks and have fun! I hope you post a story or two!

  12. You were a baaad girl! LOL Loved the story. Precious memories of dad…

    • Thank you and agreed precious stories AND I was bad. lol

  13. When i was 14 back in 1973,one of my close friends was still going thru puberty and bedwetting because of it.She wore cloth diapers and extra large super size baby plastic pants to bed every night.One of our close friends had a slumber party the one weekend as her parents went out of town.Me and my bedwetting friend went to it and she brought along extra diapers and plastic pants in her bag.When it was time to get our night clothes,me and the rest of the other girls took the extra diapers and plastic pants and put them on so all of us were the same!We actually had a blast running around with the diapers and plastic pants on and being silly,etc.

    • What an amazing thing you did and what an amazing lesson. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a comment

Categories

Yolanda and her creative scream

Aspergers syndrome, bipolarity, photography, art, poetry.

Chronology

News & Views

Folsom Mill Studio/Eunice Miller

NH Artist and Photographer

Babsje Heron

Great Blue Herons: A study in patience and grace

Mar

Adventures in Writing

U.S. Navy Seabee Museum

Collecting, preserving and displaying historical material of the Seabees and the Civil Engineer Corps

Salty Pinches

Collage stuck and sewn

History Out There

Discovering history out there everywhere you go | Harold Peacock | Author | Historian | Detectorist